Commission President - Commissioner James Campbell (Position 1)

Commissioner Campbell was sworn in and elected to be President of the Commission on July 2, 2013. His biography will be updated here.

Commission Vice President - Commissioner Bill Hunsinger (Position 3)

Bill  Hunsinger“I was born in Washington D.C.," said Port commissioner Bill Hunsinger, "but my mom and dad were born and raised here. I was here before age 1, so I have been here all my life."

Bill was a longshoreman for 44 years before retiring last February. He has also been a commercial fisherman since 1963. He stated why he became a Port commissioner: "I made a good living at the Port of a good retirement out of the union and I wanted to give something back." He says he is the "bulldog" of the commission and is hoping he can make a difference in his new role. "As area chairman for the Columbia River and all of Oregon for the longshoremen, I learned an awful lot about shipping, and ports, and how they are run. Read more

Commission Secretary - Commissioner Stephen Fulton (Position 2)

Commissioner Fulton was sworn in and elected to be Secretary of the Commission on July 2, 2013. Mr. Fulton is a manager with more than 35 years of business experience. He has an extensive background in planning and managing cross-functional permitting projects, international trade, manufacturing and project compliance. For over the past 15 years, he has effectively partnered to assess opportunities, facilitate strategic decisions, and drive successful implementations of permitting and land development projects for Warrenton Fiber Company. Steve's ability to assess complex situations and identify appropriate solutions underscores his ability to gain meaningful insight and follow up with thorough analysis. He is particularly skilled at facilitation and enjoys forging consensus among people with diverging ideas and opinions. Steve has managed a broad array of projects in industries ranging from; domestic transportation, marine operations, international trade, manufacturing, land development and permitting. Read more

Commission Treasurer - Commissioner Ric Gerttula (Position 5)

Commissioner Gerttula was sworn in and elected to be Treasurer of the Commission on July 2, 2013. His biography will be updated here.



Commission Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Commissioner Jack Bland (Position 4)

Jack Bland

Public Service 

Founding director (1975) and Chairman of the Board, San Mateo County Transit District (San Francisco Bay Area).  In 1988, "SamTrans" was named "America’s Best Transit District" by the American Public Transit Association.

Executive Director, Governor’s Transportation Task Force. Led a bi-partisan consortium of public and private officials and consultants in addressing the needs of public transportation in the six-county Chicago Metropolitan Area. This effort resulted in creation of the six-county Chicago Metropolitan Area Regional Transportation Authority or "RTA." 

Executive Director, Governor’s Commission on Organization. Recruited a team of public officials and private consultants to organize the State of Illinois’ first "DOT" (Department of Transportation).

Advisory Director, Cascade Division, The Salvation Army. Volunteer worker at "Ground Zero" following 9/11.

Read more